Masters Project: 1. Introduction

This is an introduction to the post series which focuses on my main compositional project for my Masters.

For roughly the next 18 months, I will be studying my Master of Music at Canterbury Christ Church University, with a focus on Composition.

My aim for my Main Project as it stands at this point in time, is to create and develop an installation which gives the majority of compositional decisions to the audience (or users… this term may change). This installation will use and utilise an eclectic mixture of electronic devices, whilst allowing for a variation to the level of control given to the audience.

My initial reason behind doing this project, is not one that I could justifiably say was academic…. (apologies to my personal tutor Alistair Zaldua)…. I want people  (non-musicians) to be able to get stuck in, and be able to explore the more experimental side of music, without the fear that comes with attending a normal or more traditionally presented concert or performance.

Overall, this comes out of an impression that I get about a lot of experimental music, and the lack of accessibility for non-musicians. I have found that the way most of these experimental pieces are presented to the public beyond academia can come across as being very cold, very dry, and highly academic.   This can be off-putting for those not used to the format, traditions, and more technical aspects that come with the art. It can also come across that if you don’t understand the music, or even appreciate its finer aspects, then you are lower than those who do.  I have yet to hear this said explicitly, nevertheless it certainly feels that way to some, including myself. In addition, where and how these pieces are presented can also have an affect on its perception by an audience. For example, conferences, though open to the public, the audience that attend tend to be those already interested in the style or discussions that are being presented. And new audiences whose main focus in life is not to search for ‘new’ music may miss opportunities to widen their knowledge and to experience new world that they may have not been previously aware of.

Therefore, when it comes to my projects, I try to think about how I could present my work to those who are not accustomed to the strange sounds that can occur in such an experimental world. I also try to look at how music that has already been successful in this, and which have unusual (or non-traditional) elements have been presented, and represented successfully to a wider audience outside of the academic world. I hope to help progress this further. This does not mean I can guarantee that I will be successful in doing this myself, but an exploration is needed. In addition, this way of thinking about presenting new works to a wider audience does not mean “dumbing down” the end work, but instead looking at how these works are represented to the wider community.

In the past I haven’t always achieved this successfully, and even I will admit that sometimes I do enjoy the odd piece that explores a technique in a purely academic and explorative fashion. But I do feel that new music needs to also be for the wider community, not just for the academic musicologists in their ivory towers.

In fact, last year I put on a concert with pieces from the my three years of studying my Bachelors, to test out one idea about how to present my work outside of academia. (You can read it here: https://jasonhodgsoncomposer.wordpress.com/2017/01/31/inside-the-machine-concert-part-1-language-is-a-fictious-fact/

I do have a list of devices I would like to use in this piece already, however I will not write it on here for the moment. This is for one reason and one reason only: it will change, and probably drastically over the coming months. What I can tell you is that they spread throughout the past century.

The style of these posts will be one of documenting the processes throughout the development of the project, as well as discussing about how each part fits in both my end  installation, and its context within other realms of art and music. Most of the time this will focus on the positive, but I will also talk about the difficulties, (and frustrations), I discover along the way. The posts may also be accompanied by videos, photos, and audio clips. I may also discuss how particular parts of the project fit into my wider studies.

In addition, nearer the end of project there will be shameless plugging of the final event, and possibly beta-tests prior to this.

_________________________________________

That is all for this post. There is much more to say about my project, and I have even started on one and a half parts. Keep an eye out, and don’t forget to like my Facebook Page where you will see shorter and quicker updates. They is also twitter account in the works. It’s a-go here.

– Jason Hodgson (27th January 2017)

Author: Jason Hodgson

I'm an experimental composer with a love for the wacky and weird. Currently studying at Masters Level (MMus) at Canterbury Christ Church University, with a focus on interactive composition. My previous projects have involved things like; Indeterminacy, Sweets, Theatre, Improvisation, a box, dice, Percussion, and a dragon. This blog is currently is currently under construction as it will soon be merged with a Brand New Website. The aim of this blog is not to be purely academic, (I'll save that for my studies), but to act as a sort of journal of ideas and process as I work on various projects. Occasionally I will talk and reflect about past projects and pieces prior to this blogs beginnings. Their may also be reviews of pieces and composers that I have a current interest in, and possibly some scores.... if you're lucky.

1 thought on “Masters Project: 1. Introduction”

Leave a Reply

